President Yoweri  Museveni  (standing right) during  the 19th African-Union General Assembly  at the New African Headquarters in Addis-Ababa on Sunday 15th July 2012. PPU photo

Ethiopia: Home of the African Union

The AU was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa. The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of 54 countries in Africa. The mission of the Commission is become “An efficient and value-adding institution driving the African integration and development process in close collaboration with African Union Member States, the Regional Economic Communities and African citizens”.